mi2b2 Client for RPDR

Finding the studies that correspond to the patient population of interest

The third tab of the new workbench is the Transfer Log tab. At this point, the user has just submitted a request for the Radiology material corresponding to the studies of interest. This tab shows all the requests that have been submitted to the mi2b2 server and their statuses. Users can see what requests have been completed and the corresponding data is ready for download to the user’s local machine, and which ones are still being processed.

The layout of the tab is the usual one: The main viewing panel allows the user to view information about requested studies. The filter menu can be found on the right of the viewing panel. Above the filtering menu there is a Refresh button (18) - since this tab does not periodically check with the mi2b2 server for the latest statuses, users are encourage to click on this button to get the most recent statuses.

Main panel

Once more, there are eight columns in the main viewing panel.

  • The unique identifying number of the request.
  • The request status.
  • The Institution in which the study was performed.
  • The MRN of the patient.
  • The Accession Number of the study to which the soon-to-be downloaded Radiology material corresponds.
  • The priority the user assigns to each request.
  • The date and time the request was made.
  • The modality of the particular study. For example, Computed Tomography, X-Ray Angiography etc.
A request's status typically transitions from Scheduled to Processing to Completed (16). When an error occurs, the status will be Error. Sometimes not all images in a study are retrievable from the PACS. When this occurs, the status is Incomplete (incomplete retrieval). Although these studies are missing some images, users can still download them. Finally, after a request is canceled (Cancel button (17)), the status is Canceled. Users can cancel any ongoing request (Scheduled or Processing). Users can delete requests of any status (Delete button (17)). A priority is assigned to each request: Normal, High or Low. By default each study is scheduled with a Normal priority - the user however has the opportunity to change this by clicking on the “Change Priority to:” button and assigning the desired priority (17). The mi2b2 server will fulfill requests with higher priority first, and lower priority last. However, this priority has no effect on PACS availability, nor how soon PACS can deliver the studies to the mi2b2 server. Finally a user can resubmit any selected requests using the Resubmit button (17). This can be useful in the case requests were canceled or encountered an error.

Transferred Images

As soon as a study request has finished (and is thus under Completed status) the user can click on the See Transferred Images button in order to be directed to the next tab, Transferred Images, which is essentially the image repository where all requested study material by this user will be housed.

Example workflow

The last section of each page of this online guide provides the reader with an exemplary workflow he or she would follow when using the particular Tab of the mi2b2 client for RPDR. The first of those case studies, dedicated to the Patients tab, walks the reader from the beginning of the procedure (logging-in to the client) to the point of selecting studies and requesting detailed data for them.

A

The main window of the Transfer Log tab.

B

The log displays information about all the requests ever made from the user (for this particular project). Therefore, the filters are useful in order to display the information of interest. In this case the user used the MRN search box to input the three MRNs that were requested in the previous tab.

C

After applying the filter, the main panel displays only the information belonging to these MRNs.

D

Filtering by a modality of a DICOM series.

E

Filtering by selecting the time window when the requests were made.

F

If any requests are under Cancelled or Error status, the user can delete them from the transfer log by clicking on the Delete button. Clicking on the "See Trasferred images" button takes the user to the next tab.